2017 Awards

The following awards were presented at the Annual Awards Luncheon on Thursday, June 27, 2017 at the RESNA Annual Conference in New Orleans, LA. RESNA congratulates all of the awardees, and thanks them for their contributions to the field of rehabilitation engineering & assistive technology, and for their service to the organization. 


Doug Gayton, MMM, CCD, RCA, ATP

Honorary Fellow

Steve Gleason

Student Design Competition TREAT Award

Sponsored by the Center for the Translation of Rehabilitation Engineering Advances & Technology (TREAT)

Zoé Lauters, Steven Erickson, Dylan DeBerardine, Justin Deithorn, Fernando Baez, Carlos Gonzales, Jon Carlos Brezina
University of Central Florida

Samuel McFarland Memorial Mentorship Award

R. Lee Kirby, MD, FRCPC

Leadership Award


Emerging Leader Award

Ed M. Giesbrecht, PhD, M.Sc., BMR (OT), BSW

Kathy Moeller, BA, CBIS

Distinguished Service Award

Daniel Cochrane, MA, MS, ATP

Colin McLaurin Distinguished Lectureship

Gregg Vanderheiden, PhD, RESNA Fellow

Certificates of Appreciation

For Board Service:

  • Barbara Crane, PhD, PT, ATP/SMS
  • Anne Cronin, PhD, OTR/L
  • Julie Piriano, PT, ATP/SMS
  • Matthew Press, OT, ATP
  • Rajesh Pagadala, MSBME, ATP, RET

For Standards Committee Officers:

  • Glenn Hedman, Former Chair, Assistive Technology Standards (ATSB) Board
  • David Mahilo, Former Vice Chair, Wheelchairs (WCS) Committee
  • Jaime McGuire, Former Secretary, Inclusive Fitness (IF) Committee
  • Sid Roslund, Former Vice Chair, Adaptive Sports Equipment (ASE) Committee
  • Larry Schneider, Former Vice Chair, Wheelchairs and Transportation (WHAT) Committee
For Governance Committee Officers:
  • Ray Grott, MA, ATP, RET (Co-Chair)
  • Mary Ellen Buning, PhD, OTR/L, ATP/SMS (Co-Chair)
  • Doug Rakoski, OTD, OTR/L, ATP
  • Emma Smith, MScOT, ATP/SMS
  • Heidi Koester, PhD
  • Maureen Linden, MS
  • Meghan Donahue, MS, ATP
  • Nathan Moon, PhD
  • Rajesh Pagadala, MSBME, ATP, RET
  • Roger O. Smith, PhD, OT, FAOTA, FESNA Fellow