2015 Awards

The following awards were presented at the Annual Awards Luncheon on Saturday, June 13, 2015 at the RESNA Annual Conference in Denver, CO. RESNA congratulates all of the awardees, and thanks them for their contributions to the field of rehabilitation engineering & assistive technology, and for their service to the organization. 


Mary Ellen Buning, PhD, OTR/L, ATP/SMS

Honorary Fellow

David B. Gray, PhD

Jamie Noon

International SIG DIY Competition
Sponsored by Whirlwind Wheelchair International, Inc. 

Zebreda Dunham, "zKey Turner"

Student Design Competition TREAT Award
Sponsored by the Center for the Translation of Rehabilitation Engineering Advances & Technology (TREAT)

Garret Kryt, British Columbia Institute of Technology

Samuel McFarland Memorial Mentorship Award

Kevin Caves, ME, ATP, RET

Carmen DiGiovine, PhD, ATP/SMS, RET

Leadership Award

Consortium for Citizens with Disabilities

Emerging Leader Award

Maria Luisa Toro, MS 

Distinguished Service Award

Doug Gayton, ATP 

Certificates of Appreciation 

For Board Service:

  • Meghan Donahue, MS, ATP
  • Patricia Karg, MSBME
  • Heidi Horstmann Koester, PhD
  • Lauren Rosen, PT, MPT, MSM, ATP/SMS
  • Maria Luisa Toro, MS 

For Exemplary Service on the Student Design Competition Committee:

David McNaughton, PhD

Contributions to the Achievement of ASNI/RESNA ED-1:2013

Erica Kuliogowski, PhD

Judges for the International SIG DIY Competition:

  • Rocio Alonso
  • Alexandra Enders, OTR/L
  • Marc Krizack, JD
  • Rajesh Pagadala, MSBME, ATP, RET
  • Tynee Ruedas
  • Maria Luisa Toro, MS
  • Jerry Weisman, MSME, ATP, RET
  • Jaclyn Wilsey, ATP

Contributions to Industry Body of Knowledge: Authors of the RESNA Position Paper, "Rehabilitation Engineers, Technologists, and Technicians: Vital Members of the Assistive Technology Team:"

  • Patricia A. Bahr, MSE, ATP, RET
  • Mark I. Bresler, MS, BME, PE, ATP
  • Brian Burkhardt, MSEE, ATP
  • Carmen P. DiGiovine, PhD, RET, ATP/SMS
  • Meghan Donahue, MS, ATP
  • Joseph Klaesner, PhD
  • Rajesh Pagadala, MSBME, ATP, RET 

Outgoing SIG Leadership:

  • Mark I. Bresler, MS, BME, PE, ATP, Communication Technologies & Computer Access SIG Chair
  • Dawn Waller, ATP, Communication Technologies & Computer Access SIG Chair
  • Maria Luisa Toro, MS, International SIG Co-Chair

Outgoing PSG Leadership:

  • Marcia Moore, PT, DPT, ATP, Phsical Therapists PSG Chair
  • Catherine Sweeney-Thompson, PT, ATP/SMS, Physical Therapists PSG Vice-Chair 
  • Michael Rozaeski, ATP, Suppliers & Manufacturers PSG Vice-Chair