RESNA > About > Awards > Call for Nominations


2024 Call for RESNA Award Nominations 
March 20 - April 19, 2024

Award Nomination Form

RESNA Awards recognize individuals and organizations for their contributions to the field of assistive technology and rehabilitation engineering, and to the RESNA organization. These awards honor members of our large and diverse community of dedicated professionals who are committed to promoting the health and well-being of people with disabilities through the use of technology. 

The RESNA Governance Committee solicits, accepts, and considers the appropriateness of award nominations. RESNA relies on the membership to identify and submit nominations of organizations worthy of recognition. Nominations are accepted for RESNA members as well as non-members. Awards are presented at the RESNA Annual Conference. The response from RESNA’s professional network is essential! 

Here is a Letter Template to help support your nomination.

Award Categories

  • Fellow - recognizes a member who has made long-term and substantial contributions to the field of rehabilitation and assistive technology, as well as significant contributions to RESNA.
  • Honorary Fellow - recognizes a non-member who has demonstrated leadership highly relevant to the field of assistive technology and rehabilitation engineering, and who have encouraged the independence of individuals with disabilities.
  • Distinguished Service Award - recognizes a member for their sustained contributions and service to RESNA and the field of assistive technology and rehabilitation engineering.
  • Leadership Award - recognizes an agency, company, association, or university for their significant contributions to the advancement of the field of assistive technology and rehabilitation engineering, and who have provided recognition and support for RESNA.
  • Sam McFarland Memorial Mentor Award - recognizes a member or a group of members who has influenced, counseled ,and nurtured others in the field of rehabilitation engineering and assistive technology.
  • Emerging Leader Award - recognizes newer members who have made significant contributions, provided leadership, and have made an impact to RESNA during their first several years of active participation.
  • Colin McLaurin Distinguished Lectureship Award - recognizes a scholar and leader who has made substantial and innovative contributions to the field of rehabilitation engineering and assistive technology through research, education, and/or practice. Colin McLaurin Distinguished Lecturer awardees have added significantly to the body of knowledge in the field

How to Submit a Nomination

An online RESNA Award Nomination Form must be submitted by April 19, 2024 in order for the nomination to be eligible. 

The requirements for each award can be found within the online nomination form after you select the preferred award in the dropdown.

Award Nomination Form

Nomination Criteria

  • Award nominations and letters of support for agencies, facilities, companies, or organizations must come from RESNA members outside the nominee's employer.
  • Nominations and letters of support for individuals from colleagues or co-workers can come from within the nominee's employer.
  • An individual or organization may be considered for an award in more than one category for separate and distinct contributions.
  • Nomination applications for multiple awards for an individual or organization for the same effort or contribution will not be considered.
  • While it is permissible for an individual or an organization to receive the same award (except for Fellow) more than once, it must be for new efforts or contributions not previously recognized.
  • All nominations, letters of support, and essays of support must include the name, address, phone number, and email address of both the nominator and nominee.

Nomination Decision 

  • The Governance Committee will consider only the submitted nomination letters and supporting documentation when judging award candidates. This documentation should stand on its own and will be the basis for judging the suitability of award candidates.
  • It is inappropriate for anyone including nominators or nominees to lobby or influence the Governance Committee directly by any means. If such action occurs, the nomination may not be considered.
  • The decisions of the Governance Committee and Board of Directors are final. There is no appeal process or opportunity to resubmit a nomination in the current year.
  • Submission of a nomination for consideration does not guarantee that the award will be made.
  • Nominators may be asked to present the award at the Annual Conference.
  • Each award category may have more than one awardee.


Please contact